Main Content



As the second most populated city in the state of Illinois, Aurora holds a population of approximately 201,000. Easily accessible by 4 interchanges, the city stretches the four counties of DuPage, Kendall, Kane and Will. Aurora was recognized as the first city in the U.S. to use electric lights to publicly light the community, gaining the nickname the “City of Lights”.

Aurora’s cultural diversity dates back to its establishment in 1857 with the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad bringing their locomotive shop to the town. Industries boomed and Aurora saw an influx of immigrants from European countries such as Great Britain, France, Ireland, and Italy. Perhaps best known for its role in Hollywood, Aurora became the set for the film Wayne’s World in 1992. But it wasn’t just the attention from the film that made the city popular, the Paramount Theater – opened in 1931 – has hosted well known artists such as The Beach Boys, B.B. King, and Cyndi Lauper. It also occasionally hosts Broadway series shows.

Aurora has three main school systems serving the city, with a total of forty-size public schools. It is also home to Aurora University, the magnet school Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, and is in close proximity to the College of DuPage.

Though well developed, Aurora maintains its historical origins and traditions through art, architecture, and festivals. Whether a resident, visiting with family and friends, or just passing through, there is never and will never be a shortage of things to do.

Info from: