Main Content

South Elgin


South Elgin is a suburb in Kane County with an estimated population of 22,000. The village slowly grew from arural settlement in the Fox River Valley to the modern community we know today.

Neighbored by Elgin and St. Charles, South Elgin can be accessed through major arteries such as Randall Road, Route 31, and IL-20. The Stearns Road Corridor provides a beautiful backdrop for the river crossing and open pedestrian/bike trail, and also acts as a connector to Randall Road and Route 25.
The town is served by school District #303 and the abundant U-46, with most attending South Elgin High School. Residents can also take advantage of the nearby higher education facilities such as Elgin Community College, North Central College, and Aurora University.

There are many retail and dining options throughout the city, and it is centered between shopping destinations such as Algonquin Commons and Geneva Commons on Randall Road.

Twice making Money Magazine’s list of “100 of America’s Best Places to Live”, South Elgin has maintained the reputation of a thriving and hardworking community by appreciating its modest beginnings and attracting people of all walks of life.

Information from: